Cabinet Members

Five Voting Members Appointed by the Governor:

Ms. Amanda Adkins, Cabinet Chair
Vice President/General Manager, Cerner Corporation, Kansas City

Amanda Adkins is a businesswoman, mother and political leader. Adkins has been an executive at Cerner Corporation, a KC-based health innovation company, for almost nine years. She is currently the General Manager of Primary Health Network (PHN). PHN is a partnership that exists between health retailers, physicians and employers working to change how the healthcare system works. Sam Brownback appointed Adkins in 2011 to lead the State of Kansas Children’s Cabinet. She also serves on the executive committee of the Kansas Chamber of Commerce and is the former Chair of the Kansas Republican Party (2009-2013).

Amanda Adkins

Ms. LeEtta Felter
Business owner and local school board member

LeEtta Felter and husband Jib own truck and equipment dealerships in several states, headquartered in Olathe, Kansas. She resides in Olathe and has lived there since 1994. The Felter family is very involved in the community. Two of their three children currently attend Olathe Public Schools, and their first-born graduated from Olathe East High School in 2013.


Ms. Terri Rice
Senior Marketing Manager, Cox Business

Terri Rice is Senior Marketing Manager for Cox Business, the facilities-based provider of voice, video, and data solutions for Cox Communications’ commercial customers. In this role, she leads the local Cox Business marketing team in planning, developing, and executing integrated multi-tactical marketing programs, while developing strategies responsible for commercial business growth. Terri is the recipient of numerous education and civic awards, as well as being recognized professionally. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Management and Master of Business Administration. An active volunteer in both professional and community activities, she serves on various committees, boards, and is heavily involved in nonprofit work, giving back to the community whenever possible. Terri lives in Wichita, Kansas with her husband and has one adult daughter and two adult step-children.

Mr. Jerry Henry
Executive Director, Achievement Services for Northeast Kansas, Inc.

Jerry Henry is the Executive Director of Achievement Services of Northeast Kansas, Inc. located in Atchison, Kansas.  Achievement Services is a private non-profit organization that provides programs and services for developmentally disabled adults and children in northeast Kansas.  Jerry was a member of the Kansas House of Representatives for 24 years (1993 – 2017).  He served on the House Appropriations Committee for 16 years.  He is also a former member of the Atchison City Commission and served as Mayor of the City of Atchison.  Jerry and his wife, Linda, have three children and seven grandchildren.

Ms. DiAnne Owen Graham
President, Graham Advisors, LLC


Four Voting Members appointed by Legislative Leadership

Ms. Dinah Sykes
Senate President appointee

Dinah Sykes was elected in November 2016 to represent Kansas Senate District 21 which includes all of the city of Lenexa and the Northwest part of Overland Park. Her Senate committee assignments include Commerce, Education, Ethics, Elections, and Local Government and a Joint Committee on Information Technology.

Prior to election Dinah enjoyed being a full-time stay at home mom who also ran her own business as a personal chef. She is a graduate of Trevecca Nazarene University in Nashville, Tennessee where she earned her Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration with minors in Finance and Economics. Prior to having children, she worked in higher education as a development officer. Dinah enjoys being active in her community and has a passion for serving others. She has served as PTA treasurer, PTA President, Alumni Board Member for her alma mater, and is a 2016 Alumni of Leadership Lenexa through the Lenexa Chamber of Commerce.

Ms. Shari Weber
Speaker of the House appointee

Shari Weber lives in Osage County near the town of Vassar with her husband, Marvin. They have three grown children. She served a decade in the Kansas House of Representatives for the area that stretches from Abilene to Emporia. She and her husband owned Weber Tire Company located in Herington, KS, near their family farm. She also served five years as the president and CEO of Community Bankers Association of Kansas. She enjoys traveling our state, meeting people and sampling the hospitality of communities across Kansas. Currently she is Treasurer of Osage County. Shari attended St. John’s College and Academy in Winfield, KS and Minnesota State University in Moorhead, MN. She worked with legislative colleagues to craft the original legislation that targeted tobacco litigation funds toward children’s programs that meet a litmus test of positive impact. “Making funding decisions based on data driven outcomes is the strength of the Children’s Cabinet,” noted Weber; “and, the gold standard for positive results in early childhood programs.”

Dr. Valdenia Winn
Representative, House Minority Leader appointee

Representative Valdenia Winn has served in the Kansas House of Representatives since 2011. She represents the 34th House District, which includes northeastern portions of Wyandotte County.
Rep. Winn has worked as a history professor for 36 years at Kansas City Kansas Community College. She serves on the Kansas City Kansas Downtown Shareholders Board, the Strugglers Hill/Roots Neighborhood Association and the Northeast Cooperative Council. She also sponsors an after-school computer learning lab for K-12 students. She serves on the House Education Committee, the House Health and Human Services Committee, the Joint Committee on Economic Development, and is the Ranking Democrat on the House Education Budget Committee. Rep. Winn also serves on the Joint Committee on Legislative Educational Planning.  

Ms. Annie McKay
President & CEO, Kansas Action for Children, Senate Minority Leader appointee

Previously the Executive Director of the Kansas Center for Economic Growth, Annie joined KAC as President and CEO in June 2016. Before leading the team at KCEG, Annie worked as a research analyst with the University of Kansas coordinating and assisting with evaluation of early childhood and federally funded programs targeting low-income students. A Kansas native, Annie earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Kansas and has a master’s degree from the University of Chicago. She currently serves as a member of the Kansas Children’s Cabinet and is an advocacy fellow for the Sunflower Foundation.

Ex-Officio Members

Jeff Anderson
Secretary of Kansas Department of Health and Environment (Ms. Rachel Sisson, KDHE Designee)
Ms. Gina Meier-Hummel
Acting Secretary of Department for Children and Families (Ms. Sandra Kimmons, DCF Designee)
Dr. Blake Flanders
President & CEO, Kansas Board of Regents (Dr. Max Fridell, KBOR Designee)
Dr. Randy Watson
Commissioner of Education (Ms. Amanda Petersen, KSDE Designee)
Hon. Lee A. Johnson
Supreme Court Chief Justice (Ms. Amy Raymond, Supreme Courts Designee)
Mr. Randall Bowman
Deputy Secretary, Kansas Department of Corrections, Juvenile Justice Authority


Children’s Cabinet and Trust Fund Staff

Janice Smith, Executive Director

Amy Meek, Early Childhood Director

Dyogga Adegbore, Program Consultant II